Confession


Last week I bought a box of Smores PopTarts at Walmart on my way home. I have been eating them every day (sometimes morning, sometimes midnight snack, once even for lunch) nonetheless, they are delicious.

I love smores, especially real ones by the fire. I have realized though that smores around a fire is only fun when other people are there to share them with you. It’s the whole process: putting in the dry wood, figuring out how to light it up, waiting a few minutes to make sure that the flames aren’t trying to trick you, then finally pulling out the stick things and roasting them up. Also, the memories and conversation aren’t bad either.

I can recall on time, junior year of high school, when a group of my friends and I had a “burning party”. Mrs. McKee’s AP English class had just turned in a killer research paper and we were celebrating the death of a torturous 6 weeks. The day it I had given over that dreadful black 3 inch binder I suggested the plot to Maisie and a few other people next to me. They all agreed in excitement and relief. We had a great time destoying the very thing that destroyed us, haha. Well, that could be a little extreme, but you know what I mean. Anyway, it’s good to reminisce. It’s also good to know that those very same friends are still my good friends today and for that, I am thankful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

