Weekend in Waco

I spent this past weekend in Waco with two of my best friends from high school who now go to Baylor. They recently got engaged and they asked me to take their engagement pictures! It was such a privilege! I drove down to Waco Friday evening all by myself, without getting lost or having any kind of driving freakout, which was an accomplishment in itself. haha. Maisie and Will and I got to catch up a little bit over dinner at Chilie’s and then we played Bananagrams and Quelf with Maisie’s roomates. Quelf was absolutely hilarious, I really want to get that game for Christmas; Bananagrams on the other hand was not my best game haha. I am terrible at word games. Saturday was the big day, for the sweet couple and for me, because I had never done anything like this where someone actually requested me take pictures for them. Very exciting!

Mais and Will thought that this should be used for a Sonic promo poster. haha. I wouldn't object to it!


It was fantastic though, my favorite part was the unplanned photo session at Sonic in between the two main locations we had previously chose. This was really special to Maisie and Will, not just because they go to Sonic multiple times a week together, but because he had proposed to her by putting the ring on the straw of her Sonic cup. How cute! These were some of my favorite pictures because they were super fun, unconventional, and memorable for these two.

This location was also one of our favorites. This park had some great scenery, but we also loved this distressed wall under the bridge!


I just had the greatest weekend spending time with Mais and Will, catching up, eating out, going to the movies, and of course taking pictures. I told Maisie that this was like a vacation for me. I am so blessed to have some of the greatest friends on the planet and I could not be more happy for their engagement.
Congrads Maisie and Will!

2 Comments

Filed under Artsy Fartsy, Love, Made my day

2 responses to “Weekend in Waco

  1. Xyanthe Williams

    Mary, may I just say that I’m VERY impressed with the pictures you took of Maisie and Will. They look extremely happy and I think you really captured the love between them and I’ve only looked at 2 pictures… You really have a knack for this. I hope to see more!

    • maryjames

      Aww Thanks so much Xyan! That really means a lot! I wish I could have put up more but were are saving the rest until it’s closer to the wedding. I had an absolute blast taking pictures of them and I would love to have the opportunity to do more stuff like that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

