Thrifty Find

Today after class I found myself wondering the square in Decatur hoping to discover something wonderful, and I did! Not only did I get a birthday gift for my friend, I also got this awesome camera at a little thrift store called “Knell’s Nook” or something like that. It’s a Kodak Instamatic X-45 made in 1970. I have been looking for something just like this and better yet, it’s from one of my favorite eras of photograohy- the 70’s. haha I know Why would I like photos from the 70’s? I love the square shape of the photos, wether it be framed in a white polorid style or the ones with the rounded corners. I also love the faded orange tint that they have. I’m not sure if it’s because of the film quality or the distressed nature of the picture due to the sun damage, but either way I love it. I love looking through the pages of my dad’s high school year books from Castleberry High School. Graduating class of 1977- I see images of zany hand-drawn mascots, coming-home queens, the key club, cosmotology students, and the grand marching band. Here are some photos. I love looking at old yearbooks regaurdless of where they came from. I guess I love analyzing what was poplular at the time: The way the pages are layed out, the theme of the book, the clothing and hairstyles, and the student life photos.
Well for now I’m going to read up on my new camera. I need to figure out how to work it and where to take it to develop the film. Pretty excited!

Leave a comment

Filed under Artsy Fartsy, Family, Made my day, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

