Moving Day


Goodbye Kerr Hall. Goodbye dorm. I will not miss you.
Climbing on top of furniture to get into an uncomfy bed, I will not miss you.
Cinderblock walls, I will not miss you.
Ugly celing tiles, I will not miss you.
Window I cannot open, I will not miss you.
Sink with no cabnet underneath, I will not miss you.
Gross bathroom, I will not miss you.
Mini fridge that spoils my milk and freezes my carrots, I will not miss you.

I think it’s safe to say that I am so ready to be out of the dorm that feels like a cold jail cell when it is emptied of all of our attempts of decor and warmth. Sleeping there this past week has been so weird with all of our wall hangings, pictures, posters, and stickers removed from the walls. So empty. We have been taking things out, little by little- living on only the bear necessities.

I didn’t realize how much unnecessary stuff I had until I started packing it all up in boxes and taking it home to add to the pile of more unnecessary stuff. Loads of clothes, shoes and … stuff. Over a matter of years I have accumulated all of this stuff- and for what? So so it can be donated to someone elses pile of stuff? These material things will eventually be passed around until they are considered retro probably and into someone elses box on the top shelf of their closet. I guess what I am trying to say here is- Store up your treasures in heaven because all of our stuff- all of our time, energy, and money- is wasted to earthly things. God gives us everything we need but sometimes we get a little greedy thinking that we need all this other stuff. Paul says in Pilippians 4:12, “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” I think it’s good to be reminded that we need to be content with what we have. This makes me want to clean out my closet get rid of the junk and get away from the stuff. I don’t know- go without for a while- go camping or something. haha. I don’t know who in the world would take me camping, but it is a nice thought though. Maybe I should just go camping in my backyard…

1 Comment

Filed under Inspirational, Reasons I am excited to live in an apartment, Uncategorized

One response to “Moving Day

Leave a Reply

