Kincaids, Movies, and Central Market

So today was a very fun day full of new experiences. The family and I ate at Kincaids hamburgers for lunch and it was AMAZING! My bacon cheese burger, fries and chocolate milkshake were irreplaceable. Very filling, I didn’t even need dinner. It was really interesting to learn about how the very first Kincaids got started- as a grocery and market! The meat market inside became so popular that the grocery store evolved into a hamburger grill. Neighborhood teens ate there for lunch and spread the word to their parents about the good burgers. Texas Monthly choose Kincaids as having  “The best burger in Texas” and a national of food editors and critics choose Kincaids for “the best burger in the USA”. Here are a couple pics from lunch.kb2kb1

 After lunch we saw Harry Potter of all things, but it wasn’t half bad. I think I was more interested in the love triangles, costume design, and set design than anything else. As for the whole story line- I was a bit lost due to the fact that I hadn’t seen but 2 or 3 of the other movies.

Anyway, next was Central Market. This was a completely new grocery shopping adventure. It’s hard to describe. My favorite part was the produce as soon as you entered the foodie heaven. Everything was fresh, mostly priced by the pound, but what was most astonishing was the variety of the foods there. 18 different kinds of apples…18! Seriously! We filled on buggy just on produce alone. Carrying on to the meats and such there was many things to sample. Everything was arranged so perfectly, like so fancy. I loved the unique kinds of sodas, chocolates, and cheeses- Everything was worth taking a picture of. I’m sure anyone glancing over thought I was looney for taking pictures of groceries but it was cool to me! I have never been to a place like this!  I was so neat and I definetly want to go there again.

When I asked my dad what the heck these red things were he said, "I don't know. They look like... something not from this planet..." Haha I about died laughing.

When I asked my dad what the heck these red things were he said, "I don't know. They look like... something not from this planet..." Haha I about died laughing.

cm2

There were 3 cases of bagels alone- Blueberry, Cranberry, Poppyseed, Sesame Seed... lots.

This is bread. There was quite a lot of bread here in all different shapes and sizes.

This is bread. There was quite a lot of bread here in all different shapes and sizes.

We bought two big buggies full of groceries. It's a good thing we'll be home all week. We've got a lot of eating to do.

We bought two big buggies full of groceries. It's a good thing we'll be home all week. We've got a lot of eating to do.

cm3

So many decadant deserts. I wanted to be another year older just so I could have one of these for my birthday cake.

My yummy orange and cream jones soda i drank on thw way home. : )

My yummy orange and cream jones soda i drank on thw way home. : )

So today was a pretty memorable day. I had a great time exploring new foodie things and I look forward to enoying them all week. Now that I have oranized everything ni the fridge and the extra stuff on the counter I think I’m gonna go play some Rock Band with Austin. He’s been askin me about it for the past hour. Goodnight all. Sleep well ; )

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

